Welcome to Six by Six

Hello!

My name is Ryan Subhan, and this is a quick background and introduction to Six by Six.

First thing’s first, I am 23 years old, and was born and raised at the Jersey Shore. I have my BS in biochemistry from Quinnipiac University and I’m currently a medical copywriter in NYC, living in Hoboken, NJ. Now that we got that out of the way, let’s talk about how I got into nutrition and the reason I’m doing Six by Six.

I moved to Hoboken, New Jersey March of 2014. Having gone through a tough break-up, and re-evaluating my life, I needed to change some things and started living on the motto of “lifestyle changes”. But the day that really changed my life was the day I walked into Hudson River Crossfit. After 10 minutes of talking with some people there, I knew this was the gym (box, for those crossfitters amongst us) I wanted to be a part of.

When May rolled around, I had been doing Crossfit for about a month, and HRCF announced a gym wide Paleo challenge. At this point in my life I had gotten to be about 200 pounds, the heaviest I had ever been, and I needed something to change. I had always tried to lose weight in the past, but dieting was something I could never lock into. This Paleo challenge was finally a way to change my dieting and my habits, and start to reach those weight loss goals. At the end of May (and the Paleo challenge), starting at 200 pounds, I had lost about 15 pounds, and was already looking and feeling much better. From that point on I decided to try my hardest to stick to Paleo and really change my lifestyle and habits, and I set some goals.

Now, November rolls around, and HRCF has announced a second Paleo challenge. I, a seasoned veteran at this point, was excited to take part in this so I could help people reach their goals and survive the strict month of Paleo. At this point I had dropped to around 155 pounds, and was starting to change some of my goals, and focuses. I was looking at this challenge as a way to drop the last little bit of weight I was carrying around, so I could focus on building muscle. But it was during this challenge that I realized how good it felt to help people stay healthy, and felt even better to see people lose weight and hit their goals.

It’s now March, and I have slipped a little bit recently with my dieting and working out (mostly due to being very busy at work), and that’s what gave me the idea for this new challenge, which I’m calling Six by Six (have to give credit where credit is due, the amazing name from Lisa Jablonski, a fellow Crossfitter at HRCF). You can see more details on what and exactly why I’ve decided to embark on this 3-month challenge in the blog “What is Six by Six” (Also found on the About page!).

I’m sure I didn’t cover off on everything, but I’m hoping you’ll get to know more about me and my life as I post more blogs! I invite everyone to join me on this ride over the next 3-months (and I’m going to continue blogging past the 3 months so people can keep up with me, and people who want to stay clean and healthy!)

So! Welcome and I hope you enjoy the journey!

-R

Eat clean, Lift dirty

Leave a Reply

