Recipes – Seared Sea Scallops over Julienned Zucchini

IMG_0767

IMG_0766

For dinner tonight I decided to try a new recipe I found online for fast seared scallops (I added some shrimp to it as well) and Julienned zucchini. It was my first time trying this recipe, and it came out amazing. Definitely could have made some little adjustments, but overall I was very happy with this meal. Julienned (spiralized) zucchini is an amazing replacement to pasta and tastes just as good! I bought my spiralizer on Amazon, and I don’t regret it at all! I highly recommend adding one to your kitchen utensil collection.

Now, on to the recipe. This recipe was simple, quick, and delicious. I have to give credit to Robin Sue Joss from Big Red Kitchen, LLC, who is the author of this recipe:


Prep time: ~7 minutes —– Cook time: ~11 minutes ——– Total time: ~18 minutes

Serves: 2 

Ingredients: 

  • 8 large, fresh, wild-caught sea scallops (I admit that I did not use these, since I’m on a tighter budget!)
  • 8 large, peeled and deveined shrimp (Optional)
  • Lemon pepper
  • Kosher Salt
  • Olive Oil
  • 1/4 Cup Dry Vermouth or Any Dry White Wine, not cooking wine!
  • 2 Small Organic Zucchini (About 4-5 ounce each)
  • Lemon Zest (Optional)

Instructions: 

  • Using the Julienne peeler (or spiralizer), Julienne the zucchini and set aside
  • Rinse and dry the scallops. Sprinkle with a little lemon pepper and salt on both sides
  • Heat a medium skillet with about 2 tsp olive oil over medium heat, until hot
  • Place scallops on the pan and sear on the first side for 4 minutes
  • Gently get under the scallops with a metal spatula and flip
  • Cook 1 more minute, remove to a plate, and cover with foil
  • Deglaze the pan by pouring the vermouth into the pan and loosening the brown bits from the bottom using the spatula.
  • Add the shrimp to the pan and allow them to cook until they begin to turn orange, about 3 minutes
  • Add zucchini
  • Sprinkle zucchini with some lemon pepper and 2 pinches of salt. Stir. Cook for 3 minutes.
  • Divide zucchini between 2 plates and top each with 4 scallops

That’s it! The pictures I have above are not the exact recipe since I used different scallops and I was only cooking for 1. But if you are looking to make more servings from this, just add 2 more scallops and shrimp per person. The cooking time is going to be the same.

Please let me know what you think if you try this out!

-R

Eat clean, Lift dirty

2 thoughts on “Recipes – Seared Sea Scallops over Julienned Zucchini

  1. Pingback: Meals – March 4, 2015 | Six by Six

Leave a Reply

