What’s your Excuse?

Getting into a gym routine may be one of the hardest parts of losing weight or getting healthy, next to cleaning up your diet. The biggest problem I always had was, I would go for a few weeks, and then fall out of that rhythm because of work or school getting in the way. But now that I have managed to get into a very structured workout routine, I find ways to workout no matter what comes up or where I am. If I start to miss a few workouts, my body starts to tell me that I have to get back to the gym. Mentally I have developed the need for going to the gym and working out, it is a great stress reliever and escape from any of the problems you may face in the real world.

I have found that the biggest complaint people have is that they don’t have enough time in the day to fit in a workout. Which I think is an awful excuse. There are plenty of workouts you can do at home that require only 15 to 20 minutes of your day, and they get the heart-moving and the fat burning just the same as an hour at the gym!

I’m going to give you one example of one to try, but if you do a quick google search for quick at home workouts, you’ll find plenty.


Following is a 15-minute workout that uses 3 moves and 300 muscles – From Men’s Health:

  • Complete 10 reps of each of the following movement. Cycle through the circuit as many times as possible in 15 minutes.
    • Air Squat
    • Judo Pushup
    • Sprinter Sit up
  • Descriptions of Movements:
Air Squat

Air Squat

Judo Pushup

Judo Pushup

Sprinter Sit up

Sprinter Sit up


One other excuse that I hear is that some people are intimidated by the gym (gym anxiety), and the weights, and not knowing how to do the movements. Well for anyone who is intimidated by the gym, I am going to give you some simple movements that can be done at home, but will still help you get in a good workout, as well as build muscle and burn fat in the process.

The difference here is that these workouts do not require you to move as fast as possible for the whole time like the above workout, instead you can take your time through this workout, focus on form, and focus on getting stronger.

I’m only going to show one of the workouts I found here, but please check out all of the ones that they have! At home workouts (I know it is from Women’s Health Magazine, but I will say that all of these workouts are great for anyone who is struggling with gym anxiety or just getting started with forming a workout routine)


  • Aim for 2 to 3 sets of 8 to 12 reps of each exercise with about 1 minute rest in between
  • For each of the workouts you can click on the name of the workout to see an image of the movement. You will start at A and progress through each of the letters until the move is complete, that is 1 rep.

If you have any questions about these workouts or anything having to do with this post please feel free to comment! I’d love to hear your feedback and suggestions of other things you may be looking for in your workouts.

-R

Eat clean, Lift dirty

Leave a Reply

